Advisory Fund for Structural and Regulatory Policy Reforms (FSRP)

Design of reform initiatives and a discourse on equal terms: "Development cooperation made with Germany"

4th network meeting 2019 - Development Cooperation made with Germany

New Focus: German and African partnerships

Around 160 experts from African partner countries and Germany - mainly political decision-makers and high-ranking technical administrative staff - took part in our fourth network conference on 5 June 2019 to exchange experiences and enter into partnerships. The meeting was a complete success and marked the start of structured cooperation between German and African governance experts within the framework of the Governance Fund.

More

New Studies of the Governance Fund

Freedom of Information and Transparency in Germany

Short Paper

Freedom of information can become a lasting success story only if it is guaranteed by the legal system, firmly embedded as a principle in people’s minds and routinely practised by institutions.

This paper examines the experiences made in Germany so far, also in comparison with the international and European situation, highlights good practices, e.g. the Hamburg Transparency Act, and gives recommendations on improving the current system with regard to public authorities obligations, data driven companies and artificial intelligence.

More

Objectives

The Federal Republic of Germany can look back on many years of successful experience in the reform of its administrative and economic systems. Our partners in developing and emerging countries are very interested in using specific structural and regulatory approaches and experiences of Germany for their own reform considerations. For example, they analyse how the federal system in Germany, political participation and domestic accountability, our tax administration, public finances or sustainable economic policies work, and what elements and experiences might be relevant.

The Advisory Fund for Structural and Regulatory Policy Reforms (FSRP) aims to share this experience with the partner countries for the development of their reform initiatives, thereby helping them to develop their reform initiatives.

More​​​​​​​

Services

Support of the partners is demand-driven and takes place in the form of study trips, moderated exchanges of expertise and partnerships with German administrations. Forums and instruments for the systematic integration of German knowledge and experience providers in development cooperation offer the opportunity to bring them together with key players and political decision-makers of the partner countries and to provide their know-how in a demand-driven and needs-based manner.

High-ranking experts and German practitioners, who have themselves developed and implemented reforms in Germany, will support the design and implementation of reform processes as short-term experts on location. Together with the Advisory Fund for Structural and Regulatory Policy Reforms(FSRP) they reflect their experiences under the specific conditions of their partners in order to make German system achievements usable in the respective context.

More

  • Jost de Jager

    Former Minister of Economic Affairs of the Federal State (Land) of Schleswig Holstein.
  • Manuela Soeller-Winkler

    Former State Secretary
  • Jens Bullerjahn

    former Minister of Finance of the State (Land) of Saxony-Anhalt
  • Peter Mandler

    Hessian Ministry of Finance
  • Jörg Bülow

    Managing board member of the Schleswig-Holstein Local Authorities Association
  • Hans Frühauf

    Programme Director, Local Governance Reform Programme in Palestine, GIZ
  • "In principle, cooperation with development cooperation partners does not differ so much from consultancy for public institutions in Germany. In both cases, the aim is to understand the specific situation of the counterpart and to develop solutions on the basis of one's own experience. Only the conditions differ considerably."

  • "The experience of working with partners in a  - supposedly - so distant country on profound topics and to be able to create trust and a personal relationship is very enriching."

  • "After so many years in politics, it is exciting for me to share my experience in fiscal decentralization with German development cooperation partners. Developing an understanding of the problems in the partner countries broadens the horizon - much of what we take for granted here in Germany appears in a different light."

  • "Of course, we cannot and do not want to transfer Hessen's municipal financial equalisation to Bolivia, but we have certainly inspired our partners there. One finding was that regardless of the country, administration everywhere works similarly and seeks pragmatic solutions."

  • "It's just fun to talk to colleagues who do the same job as I do – but in a very different country, under much more difficult conditions. If more develops from the conversations and we find partnerships or other forms of exchange, I personally would be very happy about that."

  • "The talks with German urban planners were so inspiring for the partners from Palestine that they invited several of the experts they met in Germany to speak at a national conference on urban planning. We expect long-term partnerships to result from this."

The network

Our network is open and dynamic. Network partners are performance drivers from politics, administration, science, the private sector and civil society in Germany and the partner countries. It consists of active and former policy makers and administrative staff and high-level experts with practical experience. The establishment of new and the use of existing administrative partnerships at the level of the federal government, the German federal states and local governments is a central component of the FSRP.

Through a series of joint conferences and workshops, the identified knowledge holders from politics and administration, science and research, the private sector, media and civil society from Germany are brought together with their counterparts from partner countries and experts from German development cooperation. Through these exchange formats, the players learn from each other, and the German public is sensitised for "development cooperation Made in Germany".

More

Issues

Decentralisation

Decentralised government and administration units can involve citizens more directly and comprehensively in planning and decision-making processes. Public services are provided adapted to the respective region.
More

 

Public finances

The public finances of a country are the backbone of the state. A well-functioning public finance system ensures that the necessary funds are available for the financing of public goods such as security, education and health, and that they are used effectively to implement sustainable development goals.

More

Political participation

Democracy is essential for a life of dignity and freedom. Free and fair elections, however, are not the only fundamental principle of democracy. Citizens must also have the right and the opportunity to express their interests and participate in political policy development and decision-making processes between elections.

More

Green economic policy

The use of natural resources already exceeds the regenerative capacity of the earth today. Sustainable development therefore requires the transformation towards a low-carbon, resource-efficient and socially inclusive economy.

More

Pilot countries

Bolivia

Focus: fiscal decentralisation

  1. Mechanisms of municipal and state financial equalisation
  2. Dialogue and discussion mechanisms between the levels of government for negotiating financial relations
  3. Models or methods of calculating costs resulting from the allocation of competencies and expenditure between the levels of government.
  4. Increase tax revenues of local administrations

More

Pakistan

Focus: decentralisation

  1. Qualification offers for employees of local government and tax administration
  2. Advisory and research services for the local government level
  3. Dialogue between local associations in Pakistan and Germany

More

Peru

Focus: administrative colleges

  1. Curriculum development for training in mid-level service
  2. Training and continuing education for managers
  3. Teacher training in administrative colleges

More

Palestine

Focus: urban planning processes, financial decentralisation, digitisation of administrative processes

  1. Effective, participatory regionalisation of urban planning processes
  2. Increasing self-generated local government revenue as well as transparent and efficient distribution of funds to local government units
  3. Digitisation and automation of administrative processes for improved participation and accountability

More

Serbia

Focus: participatory land use planning

  1. Moderated technical discussions in Serbia on the development of a gradual reform and road map on land consolidation
  2. Partnerships with selected German institutions with land consolidation authorities, institutions and universities
  3. Use of the networks of experts in Germany with visits by practitioners of land consolidation and political decision makers in Germany
  4. Study trips to Germany

More

New phase, new focus: Africa

The aim: To initiate an exchange of experience and partnerships between German and African partners.

The start: A network meeting with about 100 high-ranking politicians and administrative officials from Africa and Germany.

More

Der Governance-Fonds

Gute Regierungsführung fördern, deutsche Expertise nutzen

Das 4. Netzwerktreffen 2019 - Development Cooperation made with Germany

Neuer Schwerpunkt: deutsch-afrikanische Partnerschaften

Rund 160 Expertinnen und Experten aus afrikanischen Partnerländern und Deutschland - überwiegend politische Entscheidungsträger*innen und hochrangige technische Verwaltungsmitarbeiter*innen - nahmen, am 5. Juni 2019, an unserer vierten Netzwerkkonferenz teil, um Erfahrungen auszutauschen und Partnerschaften einzugehen. Das Treffen war ein voller Erfolg und bildete den Auftakt einer strukturierten Zusammenarbeit zwischen deutschen und afrikanischen Governance-Expertinnen und Experten im Rahmen des Governance-Fonds.

Mehr

Neue Studien des Governance-Fonds

Freedom of Information and Transparency in Germany

Short Paper

Freedom of information can become a lasting success story only if it is guaranteed by the legal system, firmly embedded as a principle in people’s minds and routinely practised by institutions.

This paper examines the experiences made in Germany so far, also in comparison with the international and European situation, highlights good practices, e.g. the Hamburg Transparency Act, and gives recommendations on improving the current system with regard to public authorities obligations, data driven companies and artificial intelligence.

More

Ziele

Neu: Der SOB heißt jetzt Governance-Fonds - nicht nur der Name ändert sich!

Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland kann in der Reform ihrer Verwaltungs- und Wirtschaftssysteme auf langjährige erfolgreiche Erfahrungen zurückblicken. Unsere Partner in den Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern zeigen ein hohes Interesse, spezifische struktur- und ordnungspolitische Ansätze und Erfahrungen Deutschlands für eigene Reformüberlegungen zu nutzen. Beispielsweise analysieren sie, wie das föderale System in Deutschland, die politische Teilhabe und innerstaatliche Rechenschaftspflicht, unsere Steuerverwaltung, öffentlichen Finanzen oder eine ökologische Wirtschaftspolitik funktionieren und welche Elemente und Erfahrungen relevant sein könnten.

Der Governance-Fonds setzt sich zum Ziel, den Partnerländern dieses Erfahrungswissen für die Gestaltung ihrer Reforminitiativen zur Verfügung zu stellen und sie so bei der Gestaltung ihrer Reforminitiativen zu unterstützen.

Mehr​​​​​​​

Leistungen

Neu: Der SOB heißt jetzt Governance-Fonds - nicht nur der Name ändert sich!

Die Unterstützung der Partner erfolgt nachfrageorientiert über Studienreisen, moderierten Fachaustausch und Partnerschaften mit deutschen Verwaltungen. Foren und Instrumente zur systematischen Einbindung von deutschen Wissens- und Erfahrungsträger/innen in die Entwicklungszusammenarbeit bieten die Möglichkeit, diese mit Leistungsträger/innen und politischen Entscheidungsträger/innen der Partnerländer zusammenzubringen und ihr Know-how nachfrageorientiert und bedarfsgerecht bereitzustellen..

Hochrangige Experten und deutsche Praktiker, die selbst Reformen in Deutschland entwickelt und umgesetzt haben, werden als Kurzzeitexperten vor Ort die Gestaltung und Implementierung von Reformprozessen unterstützen. Gemeinsam mit dem Governance-Fonds reflektieren sie ihre Erfahrungen unter den spezifischen Voraussetzungen der Partner, um deutsche Systemerrungenschaften dem jeweiligen Kontext entsprechend nutzbar zu machen.

Mehr

  • Hans Hinrich Coorssen

    Haushaltsdirektor der Hansestadt Hamburg a.D.
  • Jost de Jager

    Wirtschaftsminister a.D. des Landes Schleswig Holstein
  • Manuela Soeller-Winkler

    Staatssekretärin a.D.
  • Jens Bullerjahn

    Ehemaliger Finanzminister des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt
  • Peter Mandler

    Hessisches Ministerium der Finanzen
  • Jörg Bülow

    Geschäftsführendes Vorstandsmitglied des Schleswig-Holsteinischen Gemeindetags
  • Hans Frühauf

    Programmleiter, Förderung des Reformprogramms zur Kommunalentwicklung in Palästina, GIZ
  • „Die Professionalität und das Engagement der madagassischen Entscheidungsträger – von der Bürgermeisterin bis zur Ministeriumsebene – haben mich tief beeindruckt. Sowohl vor Ort als auch im Rahmen einer Delegationsreise der Madagassischen Partner nach Deutschland wurde deutlich, dass der Fachaustausch auf Augenhöhe für beide Seiten inspirierend ist. Das schlichte Übertragen hiesiger Lösungen und Verfahren ist eher nicht zielführend.“

  • "Im Prinzip unterscheidet sich die Zusammenarbeit mit Ansprechpartnern aus der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit gar nicht so sehr von der Beratung öffentlicher Einrichtungen in Deutschland. In beiden Fällen geht es darum, die spezifische Situation des Gegenüber zu verstehen und aus der eigenen Erfahrung Lösungsansätze zu entwickeln. Nur die Bedingungen unterscheiden sich doch ganz erheblich."

  • "Die Erfahrung, sich mit Partnern in einem – vermeintlich – so fernen Land  in so kurzer Zeit über fachliche Themen wirklich tiefgreifend und offen austauschen und darüber Vertrauen und eine persönliche Beziehung herstellen zu können, ist ungemein bereichernd."

  • „Nach so vielen Jahren in der Politik ist es für mich spannend, mit Partnern der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit meine Erfahrungen in der Fiskaldezentralisierung zu teilen. Ein Verständnis für die Probleme in den Partnerländern zu entwickeln, erweitert den Horizont und lässt vieles, das wir hier in Deutschland als selbstverständlich erachten, in einem anderen Licht erscheinen."

  • „Natürlich können und wollen wir den hessischen kommunalen Finanzausgleich nicht auf Bolivien übertragen, aber inspiriert haben wir die Partner allemal. Eine Erkenntnis war, dass Verwaltung jenseits aller Grenzen ähnlich tickt und pragmatische Lösungen anstrebt."

  • "Es macht einfach Spaß, sich mit Kollegen auszutauschen, die denselben Job machen wie ich – nur eben in einem ganz anderen Land unter viel schwierigeren Voraussetzungen. Wenn sich aus den Gesprächen mehr entwickelt und wir Partnerschaften oder sonstige Formen des Austausches finden, würde mich persönlich das freuen."

  • „Die Gespräche mit deutschen Raumplanern waren für die Partner aus Palästina so inspirierend, dass sie gleich mehrere der in Deutschland kennengelernten Fachleute als Sprecher zu einer nationalen Konferenz zum Thema Raumplanung eingeladen haben. Wir gehen davon aus, dass daraus langfristige Partnerschaften entstehen.“

Das Netzwerk

Unser Netzwerk ist offen und dynamisch. Netzwerkpartner sind Leistungsträger/-innen aus Politik, Verwaltung, Wissenschaft, dem Privatsektor und der Zivilgesellschaft in Deutschland und den Partnerländern. Es setzt sich aus aktiven und ehemaligen politischen Entscheidungsträger/-innen und Verwaltungsangestellten und hochrangigen Expert/-innen mit Praxiserfahrung zusammen. Der Aufbau neuer und die Nutzung bestehender Verwaltungspartnerschaften auf Ebene des Bundes, der deutschen Bundesländer und Kommunalverwaltungen ist ein zentraler Bestandteil des SOB.

Durch eine Reihe von gemeinsamen Konferenzen und Workshops werden die identifizierten Wissensträger/-innen aus Politik und Verwaltung, Wissenschaft und Forschung, dem Privatsektor, Medien und der Zivilgesellschaft aus Deutschland mit ihren Counterparts aus Partnerländern und Experten/-innen der deutschen EZ zusammengebracht. Durch diese Austauschformate lernen die Akteure voneinander, und die deutsche Öffentlichkeit wird für eine „EZ Made in Germany“ sensibilisiert.

Mehr

Themen

Dezentralisierung

Dezentrale Regierungs- und Verwaltungseinheiten können die Bürger direkter und umfassender in Planungs- und Entscheidungsprozesse einbeziehen. Öffentliche Dienstleistungen werden angepasst an die jeweilige Region bereitgestellt.
Mehr

Öffentliche Finanzen

Die öffentlichen Finanzen eines Landes sind das Rückgrat des Staates. Ein funktionierendes System der öffentlichen Finanzen stellt sicher, dass die notwendigen Mittel für die Finanzierung von öffentlichen Gütern wie Sicherheit, Bildung und Gesundheit bereit stehen und effektiv für die Umsetzung nachhaltiger Entwicklungsziele eingesetzt werden.

Mehr

Politische Teilhabe

Demokratie ist eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für ein Leben in Würde und Freiheit. Freie und faire Wahlen sind jedoch nicht das einzige grundlegende Prinzip einer Demokratie. Bürgerinnen und Bürger müssen auch in der Zeit zwischen den Wahlterminen das Recht und die Möglichkeit haben, ihre Interessen zu äußern und sich an politischen Willensbildungs- und Entscheidungsprozessen zu beteiligen.

Mehr

Grüne Wirtschaftspolitik

Die Nutzung von natürlichen Ressourcen übersteigt bereits heute die Regenerationsfähigkeit der Erde. Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung erfordert daher die Transformation hin zu einer kohlenstoffarmen, ressourcenschonenden und sozial inklusiven Wirtschaft.

Mehr

Pilotländer

Bolivien

Schwerpunkt: Fiskaldezentralisierung

  1. Mechanismen des kommunalen und des Länderfinanzausgleiches
  2. Dialog- und Diskussionsmechanismen zwischen den staatlichen Ebenen zur Aushandlung der Finanzbeziehungen
  3. Modelle oder Methoden zur Berechnung von Kosten, die sich aus der Zuteilung von Kompetenzen und Ausgaben zwischen den staatlichen Ebenen ergeben.
  4. Erhöhung der Steuereinnahmen der lokalen Verwaltungen

Mehr

Pakistan

Schwerpunkt: Dezentralisierung

  1. Qualifizierungsangebote für Beschäftigte der Kommunalverwaltung und der Steuerverwaltung
  2. Beratungs- und Forschungsangebote für die kommunale Ebene
  3.  Austausch zwischen Kommunalverbänden in Pakistan und Deutschland

Mehr

Peru

Schwerpunkt: Verwaltungsfachhochschulen

  1. Curriculumsentwicklung für die Ausbildung im mittleren Dienst
  2. Aus- und Fortbildung für Führungskräfte
  3. Lehrerausbildung in Verwaltungsfachhochschulen

Mehr

Palästina

Schwerpunkte: Raumplanungsverfahren, Finanzdezentralisierung, Digitalisierung von Verwaltungsabläufen

  1. Effektive, partizipative Regionalisierung von Raumplanungsverfahren
  2. Steigerung kommunaler Eigeneinnahmen sowie transparente und effiziente Mittelverteilung an die Kommunalverwaltungseinheiten
  3. Digitalisierung und Automatisierung von Verwaltungsabläufen für verbesserte Partizipation und Rechenschaftslegung

Mehr

Serbien

Schwerpunkt: Partizipative Landnutzungsplanung

  1. Moderierte Fachgespräche in Serbien zur Entwicklung einer schrittweisen Reform und Roadmap zu Flurneuordnung
  2. Partnerschaften mit ausgewählten deutschen Institutionen mit Flurneuordnungsbehörden, Institutionen und Universitäten
  3. Nutzung der Netzwerke der Experten in Deutschland mit Besuchen von Anwendern der Flurneuordnung und  der politischen Entscheidungsträger in Deutschland
  4. Studienreisen nach Deutschland

Mehr

Neue Phase, neuer Fokus: Afrika

Das Ziel: Einen Erfahrungsaustausch wie auch Partnerschaften zwischen deutschen und afrikanischen Partnern initiieren.

Der Start: Ein Netzwerktreffen mit ca. 100 hochrangigen Politiker*innen und Verwaltungsbeamt*innen aus Afrika und Deutschland

Mehr

Publikationen

Melden Sie sich zu unserem Newsletter an!